The deadline to nominate your 2018 Spirit of Barbra Schlifer Award Recipient

is Thursday, March 8 at 5 pm


About the Barbra Schlifer Commemorative Clinic

The Barbra Schlifer Commemorative Clinic is a specialized clinic for women experiencing violence, established in the memory of Barbra Schlifer – an idealistic young lawyer whose life was cut short by violence on the night of her call to the bar of Ontario on April 11, 1980. In her memory, the Clinic is a multi-disciplinary, front-line service provider that assists more than 4,700 women a year to build lives free from violence through counselling, legal representation, and language interpretation. Since it was founded in 1985, the Clinic has assisted more than 60,000 women.

Previous Award Winners

Loly Rico


Through her experience as a refugee, Loly became acutely aware of the obstacles encountered by others.

Read More
Fay Faraday


Fay Faraday advocates with and for those who are most marginalized in our justice system.

Deepa Mattoo


Deepa is a passionate defender of women’s rights to safety, access to justice and self-determination.

Read More
Geri Sanson


Geri is a long-time human rights lawyer and familiar face in the women’s anti-violence community.